Calculate Your BMI

If you want to check if your weight is a healthy one, you step on the scale and then you see: your weight. But what does it mean?

We all know that weight does not define who you are and what you do in your life. However it might affect your health therefore influence your mood and your ability to move. Are you too busy to think about it now? Well, one day you may end up having plenty of time to think about it…in the hospital. Well, I really don’t want to scare you, I just want you to be aware of your health.

Let’s say you eat meat every day. Fine, but watch out how you prepare it. Animal saturated fat if eaten in excess amount will accumulate in your veins leaving little space for blood to circulate. See the picture underneath. Ultimately, it translates into a greater risk of having a heart attack…

Saturated fat in vein

I am a meat person myself, but I try to cut it to 3-4 days a week and only once a day. I am not saying : go vegetarian. I am saying be aware what is on the other side of every day, twice a day, meat consumption. 

So coming back to subject :) BMI is a very easy way to discover if you are overweight or not. Body Mass Index is a way of seeing if your weight is appropriate for your height. Generally the higher your BMI, the greater your risk of a large range of medical problems. The way to calculate your BMI is the following:

bmi calculator

Here’s a chart that indicates different stages of BMI:

…and here’s a silhouette with different BMIs


You can easily measure your BMI using calculators or an app for your mobile (2011!) or simply just click here

I wish you great workouts this week. My schedule is busy with 5 running sessions this week and from the 31st Oct 2011 I start cross training and I’ll get even busier:) I will definitely update you soon! Any exercises planned for this week?

Note: All imagines from google images

Leave a reply

