Flashback

Not sure if it is because the 2012 comes to an end or by simple coincidence but I had a flashback…Dec 2011. However let me tell you first  a little about my Saturday’s afternoon:

I love the feeling when it’s raining outside and I m under the blanket with a cuppa reading a book.

was my Facebook update. I am reading ‘Fast and Slow Thinking’ by Daniel Kahneman about the ability to identify and understand errors of judgement and choice – comprehensive and compelling at the same time. Then, it came a nap – how surprising :) ?! Next, obviously useless time spent on the internet. Between rumors, news about another plan crash, lost lives and food blogs I stopped by on Amazon to choose my next book to read. For some reason I came across a book written by  Haruki Murakami What I Talk About When I Talk About Running. In seconds the sample was on my iBooks. I started reading immediately.

Two pages in and I had to stop. These few words written but an author I had never read before made me longing so much! Longing for running. December last year I started marathon training which resulted in full marathon distance being completed 4 months later on the 29th April 2012 with time 4 hours 42 min. My entire journey was documented here on L.INC. 

You know, I don’t run anymore. I thought I came to terms with the fact that I can possibly replace it with by going to the gym and/or yoga. So naive I was! I miss running every single minute and browsing the pictures from the time I started training last year made me want to run even more. I am quite busy nowadays so I have no much time left to think about it. But then it was – on rainy Saturday afternoon – my heart left emptied with no joy of running.

You might think that there are more pressing matters that I should focus on – starvation, deforestation, drugs, crime and here I am pouring my pities out. So let me explain why I long running some much.

It is the moment when I feel free. There is no politics, no better or worse, no others telling you what to do. It is just me and running. The challenge by itself sets the tone. Me and the limits of my body. Pain. The breeze of fresh air while I struggle to make the next step. The reward is unimaginable and believed to be understood only by the runners. 

Today I was back on the road again. Although only in my imagination…

photo1

Sending you loads of ♥ ♥ ♥

One thought on “Flashback

Leave a reply

